Quantcast
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default No words at 14months?

I know every kid is different and develops at their own speed but I can't help but worry about DS. It is impossible not to compare him to DD at that age.

He is 14 months and great at standing and cruising and I think he will walk any day. There, he is only a month or two behind her.

But by this time with her, she was talking. We were communicating to each other and all I get from DS are emphatic sounds.

Am I right to worry? I guess I don't know what the normal range is.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Jenn...and Bill (5/25/03)
    ...and Natalie (10/10/07)
    ...and Oliver (11/12/12)

My older son didn't say a word until after two. Nothing. I was concerned at first, but my mom told me I was exactly the same way - and now I talk for a living. Once he started talking, it was in complete sentences. And he hasn't stopped!

Our younger son was quicker to talk but slower to walk.

Our daughter talked/babbled the minute she was born but didn't walk until nearly 2.
    Last edited by mkredhead; 01-16-2014 at 07:18 AM.
    The best things in life aren't things.

I'm a Speech Pathologist, I work with adults now but spent 8 years working with children. I wouldn't be concerned yet. I'd speak to your Ped if you truly feel as though something is wrong. I posted the graphs below from the American Speech and Hearing Association (our governing board) which details their GENERAL speech development guidelines, just for reference. As you said, every child is different and some children just don't feel the *need* to communicate as early. Especially if they are good at gesture and you anticipate their needs.

Birth to One Year: http://www.asha.org/public/speech/development/01.htm
    One to Two Years: http://www.asha.org/public/speech/development/12.htm
    Married 10/16/04
    "If our thoughts are worth a penny, what are our dreams worth?"