Quantcast

Default Need Advice on a Possible New Job Offer...

ok, here is the short story.
    Im a graphic designer for a regional newspaper...i.e. I don't get paid worth a shite! My husband is in a new job, he makes decent money, but we still live paycheck to paycheck. I know that if I were to be making fairly reasonable money, we'd be doing much better w/paying off debts and saving for the future, but for right now, our bills are paid, we have food on the table..but our funds for anything fun are non-existent. (we have NO money leftover for savings)

SO...I got an offer for a job that will pay approx $12K more than what I'm making now, but it's STILL below-average for what a graphic designer in my area should be making. BUT, from the sounds of it, I'd be getting a pretty good amount of experience doing things that I have yet to do in my industry (package design, children's books, etc).

I have 6 years experience as a graphic artist. But my actual WORK experience has been fairly limited to advertising & other forms of print. I'm always up for challenges and new things.......however, I'm 30, married and would like to actually BUY a condo/townhouse within the next year or so & plan for our future of having kids....so money IS a big object!

My question is this:
    Eventhough this new opportunity would pay more than I'm making now, it's still below the "average" of salaries in my area....should I jump at the chance for a new opportunity despite the "o.k" salary? or continue to work for peanuts until a higher paying offer comes along (which could be risky)....???

K & J 10.15.05

First I would counter offer to try to see if you can get more money. Then I would take the new job, work there for a year, and then re-evaluate your options. You will at least make more money and gain valuable experience in the meantime, vs. not, now.
    isabella noelle :: 12.7.09