Quantcast

Default Should I interfere? My brother...

I can't even explain how disappointed I am in my brother. Warning, this is long and part vent!

Background:
    My brother is 20 years old, I'm 22. Our parents have been seperated for the past 13 years. We lived together with my mom for about 4 years after they divorced then he went and lived with my dad while I stayed with my mom. Long story short, he got into a lot of trouble in his teen years with drinking, drugs, partying and was arrested twice at 18 and went to prison for 2 years for Unarmed Burglary of an Occupied Residence. He was sentence to 4 years no probation at a youthful offender institute but got his sentence changed to 2 years and 4 years probabtion. He was sent to a prison near where I went to college so I went to see him nearly every weekend before I graduated, my mom went once a month and my dad never visited. We weren't close in our teen years but became close with our visits and he got out in late July and was living pretty well but then the major partying started again. My uncle got him a job at his restaurant- he had to convince the owner of the company to bend the rules to hire him with a felony, but my brother blew that chance and got fired after working there two months for being late too many times.

So as he gets more and more into his partying, we've drifted apart again. My mom has been pretty enabling in his situation but finally put an end to that and is letting him make his own decisions/mistakes and has stop pestering him about everything and in turn, he is ugh, just being himself.