PDA

View Full Version : North? South? Which direction would you want your house to face?

snowzilla
04-13-2006, 01:56 PM
DH and I are currently in the process of looking for a new home, and we keep debating the merits of having a north-facing front yard, versus a north-facing backyard, etc.

Does anybody have any insight on which direction would be more desirable?

Let me say up front that I am a true amateur when it comes to gardening, so part of my confusion stems from whether I would want to have a low-maintenance front yard with shade plants, so the house has street appeal, or a low-mainenance back yard, so we can enjoy it without having to work on it all the time.

Also, if you're looking and the house you like is in a cul-de-sac, and it's facing northeast or southeast, etc - that confuses me even more!

Any thoughts/opinions/personal experience would be appreciated!

ejs
04-13-2006, 02:03 PM
I'd be more concerned about East/West as opposed to North/South. Think about the sun rising and setting. Do you want morning sun or afternoon sun coming in to your house?

fuzzy
04-13-2006, 02:05 PM
They always say you want the majority of your windows facing south. It'll give you more sun in the winter and less in the summer.

elladee
04-13-2006, 02:07 PM
I'd want the kitchen to be facing south, especially if there was a window over the sink. There's just something about a sunny kitchen window...

greenbunny
04-13-2006, 02:15 PM
We live in a cul de sac, and our house faces southwest. The front gets the hell baked out of it all year--our front doors are a chalky mess. We will have to paint them at least every other year to keep it nice. All the plants up against the house die from the reflected heat. I definitely do not recommend it if you can help it--but that alone was not a deal breaker.

Lindsan
04-13-2006, 02:55 PM